Comics & Coffee: 8/15/12

Treasury of XXth Century Murder: Lovers’ Lane: The Hall-Mills Mystery by Rick Geary

Wednesday is a day to buy new comics and drink coffee.

Today sees the latest issues of a handful of my regular pick-ups, all of which I’m behind on as usual and can’t comment on their current quality status: Deadpool, Batwoman, Snarked. I also always take a look at the post-reboot Wonder Woman standing in the store, especially when Cliff Chiang is at his regular drawing post. There’s also new issues of a couple nice-looking and well-regarded comics I’ve got on my buy-in-trade list, Saga and Mark Waid’s Daredevil. I think the first Saga trade comes out in November. I’m definitely going to be picking up the new reprint of Classic Popeye from IDW, released to piggyback on their excellent new ongoing Popeye series from Roger Langridge. That’s a lucky release for me because I’ve had the original sitting in the “yeah right, I’ll never be able to afford this” section of my convention wishlist for years now. I’ve never read it so I can’t speak to its quality, but it’s an interesting comic because it was all-original material made just for Dell by Bud Sagendorf, who was E.C. Segar’s assistant when he was still writing and drawing Popeye for Thimble Theatre ten years earlier.

In terms of books and collections, the best item is clearly the latest in Rick Geary’s fantastic true crime studies, Lovers’ Lane: The Hall-Mills Mystery. I don’t think I’m familiar with the case in this one, which makes me doubly excited to read it. There’s also another Steve Ditko collection, The Creativity of Steve Ditko, which feels like it brings the number of those to something like six or seven in the last couple years. I’m starting to get confused as to what’s what there, but I’m assuming they’re all worth owning eventually. It also looks like there’s a single-volume trade of Denny O’Neil and Neal Adams’ Green Lantern/Green Arrow comics, which can never be pimped enough. Tom Spurgeon (linked below) recommends a very attractive Belgian comic called The Making Of, but I don’t know a damn thing about it so I’ll have to hope I can find a local copy or nice preview to look at.

Since it happens to be right here in front of me, here’s some links to the November solicitations for DC and Marvel, if you’d like to know what you’ll be spending or not spending your money on in the distant future.

You can find a full list of releases here, a mess of previews here, and some guided shopping lists here and here.

I pick up my comics from Richard’s in Greenville, SC. Today’s coffee was…actually, I’m not sure. I asked for something random at Coffee & Crema a few days ago and got something strange and delicious so I asked for a repeat today. I know it involves thyme and possibly orange. Anyway, more comics next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comics & Coffee

Leave a Reply

